Image by the author

Write Me a Poem

Stephanie Eisler Vance
2 min readNov 27, 2022

“Write me a poem,” he says

Through screens and selfies and 100-character bios

Does he want to get to know me better

or is this just a test?

“Write me a poem,” he says

He does not ask

I, dancing monkey, he, eager audience

This man demands I write him a poem

“Write me a poem,” he says

As if it’s that easy

As if these words aren’t molasses, slow and sweet

As if he is entitled to my poetry

It should be said

I want to be amenable

dying to please

Give me something to dance for

Turn on the music, loud, and let me loose

Watch me twirl with abandon

I will mesmerize you

“Write me a poem,” he says

And I oblige because I want to be amenable

But if he understands it, he does not let on

Because if he understands it, the next words he types should be, “I’m sorry”

and they’re not

--

--